23.1. Users administration

23.1.1. Edit user
Properties
Contact information
Additional information
Group and role membership
23.1.2. Default group and role membership

The user list is accessed with AdministrateUsers and from here are the users' account and contact information managed.

23.1.1. Edit user

The pop-up window where information and settings for a user can be edited has three tabs, one for the account related, one with information about the user and one that shows the user's memberships.

Properties

Figure 23.1. User properties

User properties

These are the properties for a user account.

Name

The full name of the user that is associated with the account.

Login

A login name to use when logging in to the account. The login must be unique among all users.

External ID

An id that is used to identify the user outside BASE (optional). If a value is given it must be unique among all users.

New password

This is used together with the login name to log in to the account. This is a required field for a new user or if the password should be changed. If the field is left empty the password will be unchanged

Retype password

Retype the password that is written in New password.

Quota

Set disk quota for the account.

Quota group

Set this if the account should belong to a group with specified quota (optional). With this set the user's possibilities to save items to disk will also depend on how much the rest of the group has saved.

Home directory

Set the account's home directory (optional). A new directory, either empty or from a template, can be created if editing a new user. Select - none - if there should not be any home directory associated with the account.

Expiration date

Define a date in this field if the account should expire on a certain day (optional). The account will be disabled after this date. Leave this empty if the account never should expire.

[Tip] Tip

Use the Calendar… button to pick a date from a calendar in a pop-up window.

Multi-user account

This checkbox should be checked if the account should be used by more one user. This will prevent the users from changing the password, contact information and other settings. It will also reset all list filters, column configurations, etc. when the user logs out. Normally, these settings are remembered between log ins.

Disabled

Disable the account.

Go to the other tabs if there are any changes to do otherwise press Save to save the values or Cancel to abort.

Contact information

Figure 23.2. Contact information

Contact information

Information about how to get in contact with the user that is associated with the account. All fields on this tab are optional and do not necessarily need to have a value but some can be good to set, like email or phone number.

Email

User's email address. There is some verification of the value but there is no check if the email really exists.

Organization

The company or organization that the user works for.

Address

User's mail address. Use the magnifying glass down to the right, to edit this property in a larger window.

Phone

User's phone number(s)

[Note] Note

There is no special field for mobile phone, but it works fine to put more then one number in this field.

Fax

User's fax number.

Url

A URL that is associated with the user.

Description

Other useful contact information or description about the user can be written in this field. Use the magnifying glass to edit the information in a pop-up window with a larger text-area.

Go to the other tabs if there are any changes to do otherwise press Save to save the values or Cancel to abort.

Additional information

Figure 23.3. Additional user information

Additional user information

This tab contains fields that hold various information about the user. There are by default two fields in BASE but this could easily be changed by the server administrator. How this configuration is done can be read in Appendix C, extended-properties.xml reference.

[Note] Note

The Additional info tab is only visible if there is one or more property defined for UserData in the configuration file for extended properties.

These are the fields that are installed with BASE

Mobile

The user's mobile number could be put in this field. This field could be left empty.

Skype

Skype contact information, if the user has a registered Skype account. This field could be left empty.

Go to the other tabs if there are any changes to do otherwise press Save to save the values or Cancel to abort.

Group and role membership

Figure 23.4. Group and role membership

Group and role membership

On this tab, the group and role membership of a user can be specified. The membership can also be changed by editing the group and/or role.

[Note] Note

When adding a new user, the user is automatically added as a member to all groups and roles that has been marked as default. In the standard BASE distribution the User role is marked as a default role.

Member in

Lists the groups and roles the user already is a member of.

Add groups…

Opens a pop-up window that allows you to select groups. In the pop-up window, mark one or more groups and click on the Ok button. The pop-up window will not list groups that the user already is a member of.

Add roles…

Opens a pop-up window that allows you to select roles. In the pop-up window, mark one or more roles and click on the Ok button. The pop-up window will not list roles that the user already is a member of.

Remove

Use this button to remove the user from the selected groups and/or roles. The selected items will then disappear from the list of memberships.

Go to the other tabs if there are any changes to do otherwise press Save to save the values or Cancel to abort.

23.1.2. Default group and role membership

Figure 23.5. Default group and role membership

Default group and role membership

It is possible to automatically let BASE add new users as a member of a pre-defined list of groups and/or roles. This is done by marking those groups and roles as default groups and roles. There are two ways to do this.

  1. Change the flag in the edit-dialog for each of the groups/roles that you want to assign as default.

  2. Use the Default membership button on the AdministrateUsers page and select groups and roles in a pop-up dialog. The dialog lists all groups and roles that are currently assigned as default. Use the Add groups and Add roles buttons to select more groups and roles. Use the Remove button to remove the selected groups/roles.

[Note] Note

Changing which groups and roles that are the default does not affect existing user accounts. They are only used to assign membership to new users.